The San Diego Chargers are from San Diego, CA and play their football games in the AFC Western Division. Interestingly, the San Diego Chargers actually began as the Los Angeles Chargers in 1960. Here is a brief history of this popular football team.

As one of the original members of the AFL, the Chargers played their first year in Los Angeles before permanently moving to San Diego. They came to the AFC West by way of the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. San Diego plays its football games in Qualcomm Stadium. They have been playing at this stadium since 1968 and the stadium has been the host to 3 different Super Bowls over this time. The team is currently looking to have a new stadium built to replace the aging Qualcomm Stadium.

Barron Hilton, who was also the founder of Hilton Hotels, originally owned the team. He continued to be the owner until selling the team to current owner, Alex Spanos. During the 1960s the Chargers defensive line became know as the “fearsome foursome”. They were led by big Ernie Ladd and would often dominate football games.

It wasn’t until 1979 and the emergence of QB Dan Fouts, that the Chargers began to experience success. Leading the team to its first playoff berth in 14 years, the Chargers lost in the playoffs ทางเข้า ufabet that year to the Houston Oilers. That started a string of 4 consecutive years of going to the playoffs, but the team could never get to the Super Bowl.

During this run, the Chargers played in one of the most memorable overtime games in NFL Playoff history. In the 1982 game against the Miami Dolphins, the team raced off to a 24-0 lead, only to lose it by the 3rd quarter. San Diego recovered and eventually won the game in overtime 41-38.

It wasn’t until 1995 that the San Diego Chargers broke through to the Super Bowl. It has been to this day their only Super Bowl appearance. The team won the AFC West and went on to upset the Miami Dolphins and Pittsburgh Steelers to gain a spot in the championship game. Unfortunately they had to face Steve Young and the San Francisco 49ers, losing the game 49-26.

Since that season the Chargers have had its share of problems, with only 2 winning seasons and one playoff berth, that coming in 2004. Currently, Marty Shottenheimer now coaches the team.

By admin